Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

People may find the word “university” is derived from the word “universe”, I think it’s because university is supposed to be a place where provide comprehensive knowledge. Some people believe that universities should teach graduates something more practical for their future working, or even the reason of going universities is for a well-paid job. I think this opinion is misleading youth and I do agree university’s main function is to provide knowledge.

Firstly, the skills people gain in universities are more theoretical compared to skills needed in workplace. This is because university is built for passing the most advanced and comprehensive knowledge to students, to those who are truly interested in their majors. However, the knowledge needed in workplace is usually more general and people can handle a job by practice. College is the place where aims to teach skills in specific jobs and people could learn working skills directly. Furthermore, university is the institution represents a nation’s highest education standard and science level. Universities are responsible for selecting talent students to do deep researches in each science area. There is a small numbers of these talent students will success and become scientists who make contribution to the development of our civilization.

Above all, although there are some courses which people feel are irrelative to their jobs, these courses may become someone’s jobs in their whole lives. University is the only place where train scientists, there is no doubt the main function of university is provide knowledge without other regards.