Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is widely acknowledged that universities are essential part of our societies. However, the main purpose of these places may lead a controversial debate, weather tertiary education should assure graduates useful knowledge for their future jobs or not. In my opinion, universities should equip graduates with information that they can use in their fields but scientific purposes should take into account as well.

Nowadays, contemporary higher education shifted its concept and focused more to foster well-equipped graduates. The reason is that today's demands are utterly different compared to higher education in the past. People who enrolled universities are expecting knowledge that they use in their future fields.

It is certain that there are a great deal of unemployed individuals who newly graduated from universities. This is because, employers do not rely those people’s skills and they mostly allocate vacancies to experienced workers. To tackle with this problem, higher education institutes should give courses properly as well as aid them to acquire rewarding experiences. For example, It can be beneficial to teach students up-to-date software or helps them to improve their foreign languages.

However, scientific tasks of universities should not be overlooked. It can be misleading to claim that tertiary education system should only focus on preparing their students for future. They should also be devoted to supply new insights to progression of science.

Overall, it is important to determine universities' position clearly. I believe that two main duties which is providing a useful education for their students and conducting important researches for societies future.