Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The issue about what subjects universities should offer students ha controversial. Several people argue that it is more essential to provide graduates knowledge and skills which support for their dream jobs. Others believe that the main role of universities is to teach subjects only rather than focusing on real world use. This essay will discuss about the true function of universities which the mass of students desire.

To begin with, it is notable that graduates should be prepared with practical knowledge and skills of the field where they plan to start work. First and foremost, universities should nurture the knowledge and skills tailor-made for objective of each student. For instance, a student who wants to be a doctor, enrolls the courses which relate to medical faculty. They will attend the class to learn about how to diagnose the patient’s disease, how to make right prescription or how to help patients avoid the disease. Moreover, that universities focus on the intensive and exhaustive knowledge about one specific area contributes on prospering of country. In details, if each group of students are trained thoroughly in their field, they can apply these knowledge and skills accurately to guarantee the growth of their nation.

Regarding to the second point, there are some reasons to oppose this view. Firstly, if colleges give subjects which students do not really keen on and fell those contents useless, they can consider learning in schools wastes time. It is clearly seen that only things students have passion, they have motivation to try their best. Likewise, studying theory without practicing is not effectively. For example, in Viet Na, a variety of students achieve impressive results but not having a good job because they can not apply the knowledge in universities in real work.

In conclusion, it is deniable that colleges play an integral part in orienting students’ job so the mail function of universities is to provide graduates a variety of necessary vale and ability which they really need for their future jobs.