Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The principal purpose of universities is to prepare graduates for their future career. Many people would register for the aim of acquiring general knowledge and skills which will make them competitive in the job market, others expect to obtain the specific qualifications only for their dream job. Therefore, I suppose that universities should organize courses to provide alumnus with all the knowledge and skills professional training for their particular occupation.

One compelling reason for this is that most students go to universities purpose to get some knowledge and skills which could make them have the ability to get a good job. Once they graduate and then they have a job, they have to take over al the responsibilities their job needs them to do as well as the expertise to carry out the arduous and demanding tasks. For instance, when you graduated from the University of Pedagogy, you would have the advanced knowledge and skills for teaching, whereas there was no need at all of the theory you had mastered throughout your studies.

On the other hand, it is beyond doubt that most of the jobs would require employees to do a lot of tasks and to be capable of meeting deadlines while conducting projects. Besides, big companies would prefer to employ a person well-equipped with all the necessary knowledge related to several positions within their range. Thus, universities should provide knowledge and skills to focus on the needs of the workplace for students to have more opportunities to get a job.

In conclusion, I hope that education should supply content-specific and ensure that the highest quality for their graduates.