Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the cours

It is sometime argue that the major function of a university is to train graduates to become a well prepared employee with techniques or knowledge required in workplace. While, I agree that universities should provide the vocational training courses, I do believe that universities should also play a role in providing knowledge for its own sake.

There are several reasons why the universities’ programmes should be designed to nurture the practical skills in their occupations. Firstly, some of the occupations require professional knowledges, such as doctor, nurse, engineer etc. In order to train those professions, universities must design the job oriented curriculums that allow students to focus on their unique skill sets and allow them to fulfill certain accreditation requirements. Secondly, many students expected to equip themselves with useful vocational skills in the universities, thus universities should allocate resources and support on the career development for graduates. Finally, many employers require candidates to have deep understanding in certain aspects of academic, therefore it is necessary for the universities to teach those specific knowledge to students.

On the other hand, universities are not only the place to train labor force for workplace. Many courses provided by universities may be less practical in workplace, but they are beneficial for personal development and critical thinking. For example, the liberal arts and philosophy encourage students to appreciate various cultures in different nations and the relationship between individuals and communities. Although some of the course may be less useful for the career development, the knowledge is still valuable which lead students to become more mature and capable.

In conclusion, while I believe that universities should train students with professional skills for their occupations, it is also important for the universities to provide liberal education.