Some people think that watching sports in one's free time is just a waste of time.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

it is often argued by some that games spectators are completely wasting their time. In my opinion, however, enjoying the sport in spare time is beneficial and advantageous as it teaches us the vital role of teamwork as well as sparks the feeling of patriotism.

Firstly, it could be considered that sport provides us with an insight into the importance of soft skills such as teamwork and leadership. In other words, most of the games require coordination between team members and better leadership to win the game. So, watching players executing these skills to trump over opponents can be a learning aspect for people. For instance, low-ranked Zimbabwe defeating star-studded India highlighted the importance of team dynamics required for winning rather than just having talented players.

Secondly, watching sport in leisure time is often regarded as a perfect time to revive the feeling of brotherhood and patriotism. To be more clear, the feelings of love for the country and a sense of togetherness comes stronger when people watch their country playing in the international tournament. Muslims and Hindus enjoying cricket match together and chanting for the country could perfectly exemplify the crucial role of sport in strengthening the relationship between people.

To conclude, the sport is not wasting our time as it has taught us the role of group work as well as promoted the social harmony and the feeling of love for the nation.