Some people think that we should focus on processes to be successful in life. Others, however, believe that results are more important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A successful life is believed to be the ultimate goal of human beings. To succeed in life, it is controversial that whether people should concentrate on the processes or the results. This essay aims to analyze the two polarised viewpoints and express my perspective that life is more than just a destination.

Firstly, as a saying goes: “Life is a journey, not a destination”, focusing on processes is believed to be a crucial factor leading to fulfillment in life. For example, the goal of the university is to satisfy academic pursuits or master specific careers, then live a wealthy life. However, so many students decide to drop even prestigious universities regardless of the promising career paths because the environments do not suit them well. This reality illustrates that the university experience is more important than the results including gradings or the salary you earn after graduating from that tertiary education. Besides, life satisfaction depends on meaningful relationships, which are only made from deep emotional connections. And this kind of connection can only be formed by getting over ups and downs together in a common journey. Therefore, paying attention to moments during each process is believed to contribute to a successful life.

On the contrary, there are plenty of people who keep the belief that the outcomes are the decisive factors leading to an accomplished life. In other words, the significance of the process is based on the value of the outcomes. For instance, when it comes to building a start-up, the journey is so challenging that more than 80 percent of the start-ups cannot last longer than the first year. Only those who can survive from that battle, then make a lot of profit are recognized and praised as a symbol of a successful life. Besides, materialism including financial and social status, which emphasizes rationality represented by tangible recognition, has gained a lot of attention in modern times. This trend also forces people to achieve their planned goals at all costs.

To conclude, although the main motive in creating a successful life is either the experience or the outcomes, my perspective gravitates towards the former factor. In other words, as human beings are superior to other species by their feelings, successful life is not defined by the results only but the emotional connections formed in the process of achieving them.