Some people think that we should focus on processes to be successful in life. Others, however, believe that results are more important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A successful life is believed to be the ultimate goal of human beings. To succeed in life, it is controversial that whether people should concentrate on the processes or the results. This essay aims to analyze the two polarised viewpoints and express my perspective that the success of life depends greatly on the process.

Firstly, it is reasonable that focusing on processes is a crucial element leading to fulfillment in life. For example, many students decide to drop prestigious universities because of the learning environments. This reality illustrates that the university experience is more important than the promising outcomes after graduating from that tertiary education. Besides, life satisfaction depends on meaningful relationships, which can only be made from deep emotional connections in the process of getting over ups and downs for a common goal. Therefore, paying attention to moments during each process is believed to contribute to a successful life.

On the contrary, the outcomes are widely believed to be the decisive factors leading to an accomplished life. In other words, if the outcomes are not recognized, the processes become valueless. For instance, the journey of establishing a start-up is so challenging that more than 80 percent of the start-ups cannot last longer than the first year. Only those who can survive from that battle, then make a lot of profit, are recognized and praised as a symbol of a successful life. Besides, materialism including financial and social status, which emphasizes rationality represented by tangible recognition, has gained a lot of attention in modern times.

To conclude, although the main motive in creating a successful life is either the experience or the outcomes, my perspective gravitates towards the former idea. In other words, I strongly believe that successful life is not defined by the results only but the emotional connections formed in the process of achieving them.