Some people think that young people should follow the traditional values of their society. Others think that young people should be free to act as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of whether the young should follow the traditional lifestyles or modern ones has always been a topic of debate. Although someone state that youngsters should be free to act as individuals because old customs are outmoded, I suppose there are some conventional rules which are still compatible with modern life for the youth to observe.

On the one hand, it is obvious that some traditional values are outdated these days. For instance, in some Asian countries some decades ago, children needed to marry people who their family chose. This seems to be absurd nowadays since everyone has a right to happy and seldomly look for their lovers, which makes this old rule become old-fashioned. However, some ancient values are useful for society so that they can exist for a long time. For example, the rule of respect in a family that sons and daughters have responsibility for loving and taking care of their parents when they become older. Some customs like that will be suitable with moral values in any era so that the young should obey them.

On the other hand, there are two compelling reasons for young people to be free to pursue their passion. First, the belief of talented people should be doctors or engineers is the thing of the past because nowadays the young generation can do every job they want as long as they are legal. In fact, besides doctors and engineers, all other jobs can equip their workers with decent salaries and satisfaction. Another reason is that equal gender is appreciated now so that women can do more than just housewives like in the past. To illustrate, modern women hold a ton of important positions in society even the president of a country like in India compares with ancient women just can do the chores according to the old generation’s belief.

In conclusion, although some old-fashioned rules should be excluded so that the youngster can be themselves, some old ones still need to be prevented and developed due to their values.