Some people think that young people should follow the traditional values of their society. Others think that young people should be free to act as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is true that the older generation, in most of the cases, adheres to many traditional values, belief and old way of thinking and many of these are not suitable to make the youngsters ready to take challenges in this modern era. There are still some values and traditions that are useful and older generation should pass

those values to the young people.

To begin with, many ideas that older generation still finds unavoidable have become less relevant for the young generation and it is a good thing that the youngsters have less faith on the superstitions our forefathers believed in. Besides, the traditional belief of educating a boy and upbringing a girl so that he becomes the breadwinner and she can become a good housewife is no longer accepted by the modern era. The traditional belief of fixed role for men and women are no longer applicable to this advance era where people believe in gender equity. Furthermore, the modern generation no longer agrees to take the fact that a student has to study to become either a doctor or an engineer. According to the old belief, these two are the careers someone must have. With the time, study and career have become quite different and the older tradition is no longer acceptable now. Moreover, young adults these days choose their life partners and decide when to marry which contradicts with the old tradition.

However, there are some traditional values that the youngsters should foster as those views are still beneficial and useful in this modern era. For instance, old generation strongly believes in the importance of being honest and they would rather die than to surrender to the corruption. If this generation can adapt to this single traditional value, the world would be a much better place. Our forefathers also valued the importance of working hard and taking pride in one’s dignity and work. These characteristics are ageless and should be passed to the new generation as well. We have become more materialistic and selfish these days while out older generation teaches us the value of family and society. The sense of community the senior people had are exemplary and would establish better family, social and cultural bonding.