Some people use the internet to search for solutions to their medical problems Is it a Positive or negative development Give your own opinion and examples from your own experience

Nowadays, the Internet has a major impact on every aspect of human life. We can see, an increasing new trend where individuals search online information like symptoms, causes, cure, precautions and so on, with regards to their illnesses. That definitely doesn’t mean that every other individual relies on the medical data available online, nor many of them would like to consider it useful.

Well, in my opinion, as the internet reaches out to the masses instantly, a lot of awareness could be easily created online and data from reliable sources with respect to various medical disorders can be put up online, which would significantly help the society. While searching, for medical issues online, one has to ensure the data is from trustworthy sources, as there are a plethora of websites sharing such kind of information. The details if not written by medical professionals, the websites should be held accountable after screened by experts, as the reader could land in a medical issue, due to incorrect information. For example, if a person tries to fix a wound on his body, which he does by not understanding the severity of it, he might end elevating the wound or ending up with an infection or excessive bleeding and more.

One has to keep in mind, the online information is to help you, but for proper medical treatment, you do need to visit a professional. If minor medical problems, one could utilize the online source and treat themselves, but if within a few days they do not see an improvement in the condition, it is advisable to see a doctor. By treating themselves via online help, one thereby saves his and the practitioner’s time, thus the doctor could pay more attention to patients with severe cases who require their attention. When people, educate themselves online with the medical conditions, they would give precise information of their issue to the doctor, who would then advise correct treatment without running around the bush.

So as we conclude, in a way, if the medical information put up online is from genuine sources, it would be a positive development in society.