Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth.

Discuss both these views and given your own opinion.

Some people think that governments of nations all over the world should invest finance in the exploration of extraterrestrial life on other planets, whereas others claim that this action devours a great deal of public budget since a lot of pressing global issues are still available. In my opinion, I agree with the second view.

On the one hand, it is said that the search for outer-space living forms ought to be conducted by governments with investment money. The most foremost reason is that it could help solve exploding population on Earth. It is a fact that an overwhelming number of inhabitants is an alarming concern, which causes subsequent hard-to-be-tackled situations, such as natural resource depletion and freshwater scarcity. Thus, for over decades, aircraft have been launched into the void, seeking life on cosmic bodies. If this project is a success, it can benefit all humankind. They can later reside in Earth-like extrasolar planets without the fear of the population explosion and other worrying matters.

On the other hand, others and I believe that there are numerous thorny issues which need monetary resources. One issue is starvation. It is estimated by the World Food Program that more than 20% of the population on the globe are facing hunger, which strongly affects their learning, work and production. Also, 30% of the children in developing countries, within the continent of Africa in particular, are suffering acute malnutrition, which severely impacts genetic inheritance of the future citizens. Thus, there should be financial aid from governmental agencies besides benefactors. Another issue is racism. This term means an unequal treatment of people who belong to different races, which can be easily observed in any community, regardless of civilization, age and societal scale. The racial discrimination could have a devastating repercussions on those who are targeted, in terms of working lives and social connectedness. Hence, the money for launching campaigns eradicating conflicts and prejudice should be allocated by governments.

In conclusion, there are merits to both arguments based on the above discussion and analysis, but I believe the second view is more reasonable.