Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fact has shown that people's average lifespan has gone up significantly over recent decades, but the number of children who were born every year has been witnessing a significant decline. Therefore, that sets up a controversial discussion about whether Governments should raise the age at which workers retire. I totally agree with the idea with some reasons which shall be examined in the essay in detail.

Initially, the current retirement age in most countries throughout the world is quite low, whereas they can still contribute to national socio-economic developments. For instance, in Vietnam, female workers would stop to go to their workplaces when they reach 55 and that for man is 60, then the government would have to pay them the amount of money monthly called "retirement salary". That not only makes some companies lose their experienced staffs but also create numerous negative effects on the economy.

Moreover, it is apparent that raising the retirement age will definitely help the old have their own abilities to do anything they want without their children's financial support. No matter how rich their son/daughter is, old people always want to survive independently. When people grow old, they can suffer some diseases, they also hope to travel to enjoy life. Thus, if they still have a job to earn, they can afford to pay for medications, travelling and will not be a burden for their children.

In a nutshell, I always hold the thought that people should continue to work until reaching a higher age than now. In terms of workload, if the idea is accepted generally in society, it is highly recommended that companies have to give the elder people suitable positions with not too stressful works.