Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, it is proposed that the limit for retirement age should be raised in response to higher life expectancy of senior citizens. From my perspective, retirement age should remain unaltered rather than being extended due to some reasons as followed.

First of all, raising retirement age causes higher unemployment rate. It is a disputable fact that if old laborers have a chance to work longer, young people will have to compete with them to have stable jobs. Therefore, having the age of retirement unchanged would create more career opportunities for jobseekers.

Moreover, there is undoubtedly a variety of health problems relating to old age that should not be ignored. It is undeniable that the older people become, the more serious diseases they have to struggle with. In fact, many surveys illustrate that the percentage of patients aged over 60 is higher than that of younger people. If workers have to work after 60 years old, they may get more risks of serious diseases such as heart attack or stroke because of workplace stress.

Some opponents may argue that the old does not lose their efficiency, they look after themselves very well and therefore stay young. However, the fresh and motivated workforce has more productivity than elder ones. Moreover, after working for at least 33 years, most people seem too tired to keep working especially in competitive working environment. So, this mostly forgotten aspect of the retirement age must be addressed properly in any decision-making.

To sum up, increasing the retirement age has a negative impact on not only old individuals themselves but also the younger generation. Therefore, there is no doubt that government should not raise the mandatory retirement age.