Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university what are the advantages and disadvantages

In recent decades, postponing going to university after finishing high school programs for vacations or occupations has become a growing trend, especially among young graduates. Given that the trend might create some positive opportunities and time to sort themselves out, this is not without limitations.

On the one hand, there are some benefits that high school leavers would gain when spending a gap year traveling or experiencing jobs. Firstly, one of the positive sides of taking a year off before entering the university is that the opportunity to accumulate practical work experience is opened for them when getting part-time jobs, which absolutely enables them to explore their fields of interest to make a wise educational decision. Moreover, these short-term jobs can provide the graduates a sum of money to cover their necessities for university education, such as advanced technical equipment or transportations, which probably is most suitable for individuals who do not receive any financial support while the cost of studying is extremely expensive. Secondly, in terms of recreation, gap-year takers can have chances to and release stress in the study, which they perhaps deserve after their twelve-year period of hard studying, especially in Vietnam. Students in this country are always under great academic pressure, from both family and school, so taking a break for a year should be considered so as to relax and be well-prepared for the next education path. This decision sometimes should be made by highschool leavers, even widespread, not only the practical experience but also relaxation may provide careful preparation for university studying.

The flip side of the coin is that the above-mentioned advantages are probably outweighed by negative outcomes affecting gap-year takers. First, students normally tend to gradually lose their certain academic knowledge at highschool, which is the foundation for the higher education environment in universities, leading to not catching up with learning programs after a year break. This may make students no longer interested in studying and drop out of university midway in order to go back to the job they did in a gap year, whose salary is always significantly lower than the ones if they complete their study that they can not predict or have but can not make a different decision. Additionally, the decision to take a year break from high school leavers can expose them to unforeseen dangerous accidents while traveling or deplete their possessions by squandering too much of this time. For instance, paying a visit to isolated areas where inclement and treacherous terrain always exists will probably put themselves in danger, even seriously injured that they certainly regret in their entire life. Also, Expensive travel costs will also put a lot of pressure on both their families and themselves, even if they will not be able to afford to continue their studies.

In conclusion, although taking a gap year benefits the takers in a variety of ways, its drawbacks should also be elaborately considered, but if used correctly, the decision perhaps is tremendously profitable.