Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones

Use of cellular phones have recently been limited by certain educational establishments. Some people argue that it restricts children's freedom, but others believe that, while at school, pupil's ought to concentrate on learning. I agree with the latter one and see ban on mobile phones as a positive development as they tend to be a great distraction for all, young minds in particular.

On the one side, some people belive thatschool age students, should have a right to use their own belongings, if they were trusted with cellular device by their parents, than school has no right to restrict their use. At the end of the day, they might need to be able to get in touch with parents or siblings. I strongly disagree with these merits as the educational establishment is a place of learning, requiring quietness and concentration. Phones provide nothing but that. Furthermore, if a pupil needs to urgently get in touch with parents, it can be done with the aid of a teacher.

In my opinions mobile phones are a formidable distraction to a learning process for students and lecturers alike. Not only they are noisy devices, easily disturbing classes with loud and frequent notification but they create in pupil's an urge of constant checking them, "just in case". For example, a recent research by University of Keele shows, that middle school's pupils, if allowed to have their phone during the class with the sound switched off, would check it, on average, once every 8 minutes.

In conclusion, I do not perceive limiting use of the mobiles in school environment as something negative, quite the opposite. In my opinion, it is a very positive development, which will help school age children to concentrate on the subject of the lesson, making learning process more efficient.