Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students.

Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

There are mentors who assume that international exchange programs bring a positive impact to juvenile students, while there are others arguing the disadvantages of it. However, it is acceptable that these programs give a positive experience rather than the negative one, based on the following reasons.

Regarding the advantages, teenagers can build a social cycle with their international students which is beneficial for their adulthood. Kids are the man of the future. By experiencing different cultural aspects, and having social interaction with people from different lifestyles, the youths will develop a sense of empathy, understanding, and a sense of camaraderie with their foreign counterparts. When they become adults, interaction with foreign origins will come naturally to them, which brings comfort in their workplace.

In addition, these exchange programs sure bring a sense of motivation or a sense of humanitarian to the young students. This is the most beneficial aspect as an exchange student. For instance, youngsters from developing nations look up to youths from developed countries, get inspired by them which results in better task performance and improved innovative ideas. Likewise, young people from rich countries will sympathize with their counterparts from poorer nations and try their best to bring them development, to be a source of motivation, and will sort out mechanisms to help solve the problems in the developing world. Last but not least, teenagers experiencing a lifestyle at a foreign place will improve their management skills, teamwork capacity, and likely to become more self-reliant and resilient which are valuable characteristics as an individual.

Although there is a potential to get exposure to depression or use of drugs since youngsters are inexperienced in tackling stress or choosing a reliable partnership, the advantages of going to exchange programs are more appealing to most of them.

To sum up, teenagers traveling to foreign countries as exchange students will improve their personal skills such as managing ability and will later bring positive changes to society as a whole, despite a few potentials to get exposed to the risks.