Some young people look forward to a year of travelling ,a gap year,before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons.For others this is an expensive waste of time .Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

‘Gap year’ is becoming a common phenomenon among young people travelling to distant place before they settle down with universities or work. Some regard this kind of travel as an opportunity to enrich their knowledge or develop their interests while others believe such travel is a prodigal activity. Although there is some truth to the latter, I opine that taking a gap year can be highly advantageous.

First and foremost, gap year enables students to have thime to think about their future seriously. Nowadays, there is a vast number of students choosing major or career haphazardly, which is mainly because they do not have a clear plan for their career path. Therefore, taking a gap year is one of the best way to help them figure out what they really want and they will not waste their time studying the subject or being stuck with the jobs they do not enjoy.

Additionally, the more the young travel, the more that they can learn. Taking a gap year offers the young the opportunity to witness more aspects of the world. By travelling to different places, they can experience the local culture and as a result expand their knowledge. Moreover, travelling can help them to improve their language skills or to learn a new one. For example, a student coming from a non English speaking country if spend a year in the USA or Australia can master English as well as a native one.

In conclusion, whilst it is true that some young people may waste their time and money doing nothing, many people will make the most of their time and gain valuable experience and memory that they can miss when going straight to work or study