Space exploration

Since its beginnings, humankind would look up to the stars and wonder about their nature. No surprise then that exploring the universe fascinates many, while some believe this venture, even though exciting, is not worth its costs. I agree with the latter one, as for now, the space travel should stay the subject of science movies and mankind ought to concentrate on resolving current issues on the Earth.

On the one side, supporters of space exploration believe that cosmos might hold a solution to the issues of overpopulation and impending environmental cataclysm. They argue that only finding another habitable planet can save mankind. There is also a hypothesis that another intelligent species, existing in the universe, might hold answers to philosophical and religious questions. Moreover, there has also been an ongoing race, which was started over 60 years ago, between certain nations, mostly the USA, Russia, China to dominate the space and claim it for themselves. In this context, it is a matter of national pride.

On the other side, many people argue that humankind does not benefit from space exploration and there are more urgent issues that require our attention and resources. Our own planet, its exploration and protection should be priority and funds must be diverted to tackling environmental and human rights issues. Moreover, those voices often rise a question of safety of attempts to contact extraterrestrial beings, saying they might be a hazard to our safety on the planet Earth. As many as 70% of people in the UK believe that aliens would pose a threat to mankind.

Finally, in my opinion, searching for a habitable planet outside our solar system, should stay a subject of science-fiction movies. At least until mankind can resolve issues of our survival on the planet Earth, all resources should be directed to creating a healthy and safe environment for our children to grow up in and to preserve the world that live in. Alarmingly, scientists at the Convention of Biological Diversity concluded that as many as 150 species extinct every day.

In conclusion, even though there has always been and always will be excitement about exploring the universe, it is better to concentrate on problems we face immediately on the Earth. Although some argue that only discovering a new habitable planet can guarantee survival of mankind, I agree with an opinion that the resources should be put in preserving the planet for future generations, as the chance of actually relocating to another solar system, is a faint hope.