Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Spacefaring has made some giant leaps recently and it is thought that the tourism of space could grow bigger in the long run. From my perspective, it is absolutely a positive development.

Proponents of the contrary standpoint claim that it is a waste of money and time for space travel, which could be a potent argument. For starters, there are still a large number of impoverished countries, particularly the ones located in Africa and Asia, which need financial support. Thus, developed nations should offer help to such less abundant neighboring states by investing money in industry and services. As a result, consolidation and friendliness on the globe are likely to be strengthened, making good conditions for long-lasting peace afterwards. Another reason for not developing space discovery is time devotion. To be more specific, no one can guarantee the exact interval of time before a planet with favorable elements akin to Earth is found. The whole process for a planet-searching project could last a decade or perhaps a few centuries, and if it leads to nowhere in the end, it would definitely be heavy time consumption. Instead, that huge amount of time could be put into agricultural research or energy-saving modes of transportation, which could benefit society on a large scale.

That said, I believe space exploration would be of a favorable tendency. One prime cause is that economic development would be further spurred. The United States, for example, is one of the leading countries in space tourism, and its economy enjoy plenty of profit from this type of industry. Also, specialized aircraft and other flying objects would be built, appealing for foreign cash flows. Besides, a high level of employment would be created accordingly, accelerating regional economic growth as well. Another cause is enrichment of experiences. In other words, space travelers could be on the once-in-a-lifetime pleasure voyage into the grand void, observing celestial bodies and admiring permanent beauty of stars. Outstanding and memorable moments would be ingrained in the passengers’ mind, producing a yearning sense of returning. In contrast, a journey on a cruise ship in the sea appears to be tedious and uneventful to wealthy passengers. They cannot experience adventurous feelings and witness remarkable scenes but use services and play games when boarding the ship. The trip is therefore likely to be forgotten after a short time when they arrive on land. In retrospect, the travelers do not state how glamorous the sea voyage is, but what amenities and comforts it brings.

In summary, tourism in space is certainly a positive development because of the aforementioned reasons.