In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Regardless of the developments made in agriculture, people across the world still starve without food. In my opinion, the cause of this global issue is because most nations fail to invest adequately in their agricultural sector. Nevertheless, a solution to this problem is for the national leaders to make agriculture a priority, by sufficient investment and placing a high tariff on imported produce.

There are many reasons why people across the globe still go without food, despite the progress made in agriculture. One of major cause is that many heads of state make wrong decisions by not investing sufficiently in agriculture. Furthermore, governments especially in the third world countries fail to support local farmers with grants, interest-free loans and lands. Thus, people rely heavily on imported produce and subsequently, hunger exist because this agricultural imports are expensive and most poor citizens cannot afford.

However, one of the possible remedies to the issues hunger still existing globally despite the improvements in agriculture is for the government to make sufficient funds portioned to agriculture and introduce higher taxes on agricultural imports. Undeniably, this will create plenty focus on local farmers and encourage them to grow more crops in the land and shun the habit of agricultural importation. Subsesequently, this will lead to cheaper foods available for all, thereby reducing hunger levels in the society.

To sum up, a reason why people around the globe still suffer starvation with little or no food, despite growths in agriculture is because the governments in many countries do not invest sufficiently in this area. Nonetheless, a possible way forward to this crisis is for the governments to empower local farmers and put a higher tax on agricultural imports.