Studies suggest that children spend more time on watching TV than they do in the past and spend less on doing active and creative things. Why do you think this is case ? What measurement and methods can be used to tackle with it ?

It is true that these days youngsters are watching television more than they used to and often try to avoid doing tasks which need creativity. There are many reasons for this, but this situation should be addressed by encouraging kids in some practical ways

There are two main reasons why fewer children prefer doing active and creative things. One reason is that the Internet has discouraged them from thinking by themselves. With a few clicks, everyone can get access to the huge knowledge of human beings as well as the answer to any problems they are facing up to. Furthermore, the teaching method used at schools is a cause of children's lack of creativity. In Vietnam, for example, school children just have to listen to what their teachers say and write everything that are written on the board without having a few minutes to think what they are being taught. It dissuades children from enhancing the ability of developing their own ideas.

The school and individual family should take some steps to tackle this issue effectively. Firstly, parents ought to encourage their kids to stop sitting aimlessly in front of their TV and start exploring and asking why questions about the world around them by limiting the amount of time they can use television. The more time they spend on outdoor activities, the more energetic they will be. Secondly, educational institutions should organise more competitions for their pupils to take part in. Participating in contests helps children develop hands-on skills such as teamwork, communication as well as creative thinking which is necessary for a well-rounded growth.

In conclusion, there are some known reasons for this trend. However, something should be done by the institution and family to deter school children from spending too much time watching tv instead of stimulating their innovation by doing active things.