Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to recent research, social networks have become more popular with teenagers comparing to face-to-face communicating. This essay will discuss the cause of this situation, as well as the solutions needed to help teenagers become aware of the importance of direct communication.

There are various reasons why socialising online has become most teenagers' prefered method. First of all, with the development of technology, different social media platforms have been created in order to help people communicate with each other. They are considered more efficient than meeting in person, as people can look each other up on social networks and connect rather than looking for one another in real life, which is usually time consuming. In addition, various platforms means new ways to communicate, which can bring out teenagers' excitement and the need to feel included in a community. For example, a teenager nowadays can use different social networks at once, including Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or Reddit, thus making even more connection with everyone.

Although being a very convenient method of socialising, there are still risks of using social networks, which is why teenagers should be encouraged to meeting each other face to face. One measure can be taken is setting up the time limit for social network applications. With this feature, parents can easily control the amount of time their children are allowed on the Internet, as well as making them communicate in person due to the limited amount of time online. Another solution is to set up offline events. Teenagers are commonly attracted by social events where they can enjoy with their friends, whether they are hosted on social networks or in real life. These events can help reducing the time spent online of a teenager as they are already participating in a real life event, thus already feeling included in the society and not having the need of finding their place among strangers on social networks.

In summary, even though using online networks is considered an effective method of socialising, teenagers are still at risk and they should be encouraged to participate in more face-to-face communication.