Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past years, the high salary of professional sports people has sparked a heated debate. While some people agree that their high pay is fully fair, others believe that this extravagant earning is inequitable compared to other professionals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that every single profession has its own importance and must be treated equally, similarly, athletes who contribute to the society with their hard works and short-term career do deserve the exorbitant salary.

To begin with, sports people often have very short-term career of about ten years which required years of hard work and training. Athletes must put into enormous amount of time, energy and money to maintain their best physical condition, advanced sports equipment and hiring coaches. For instance, 76% athletes are reported to start earning money after becoming national sports professional for five years, whereas 88% do after becoming international athletes. Therefore, it is considered reasonable for professional athletes to get high salary once they are fully trained to compete for their nations in the international games.

Furthermore, this type of profession requires huge amount of insurance, especially for extreme sports, such as ice-skating, wrestling and snowboarding. According to one of my survey which I conducted in university, 80% of national athletes spending was on life insurance, and the higher the risk was, the higher corresponding percentage was. Unlike other professions, once athletes are injured, it could possibly terminate their careers or often stop them from entering important competitions. Thus, athletes risk their lives to entertain people and compete for the honour of their countries who do deserve high salary.

In conclusion, the high salary of sports people should be respected like other occupations, such as teacher, doctor, firefighter and police officer in the society, and they deserve high salary for their sacrifice of time and own health.