Taking a year off

Nowadays, students have a tendency to take off a year before starting their university. They spend their year either for traveling or working. However, there are concerns about whether it provides positive input for students or if it is harmful for them. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons why it is so popular and some challenges to overcome.

First, taking a year off can be good rest for students between university and school. Additionally, this bittersweet experience can wide their visions, after a year they can be more rounded people among their classmates. What is more, students can realize what is waiting for them in business life, and they can gain appropriate work experience which can be a good initiative to pursue a career.

Secondly, students can gain ultimate freedom and learn how to cope with challenges. These two factors can also be very handy in academic researches and studies. To spend one year with collaborating with co-workers can give them benefit in team works and they can learn how to be a good leader.

Looking at the issue from different perspective, students can find to readapt to the academic environment very difficult. There is also probability, young adults continue their work instead of returning their studies. However, this is less common to happen, due to fact that academic background is as crucial as work experience for getting a suitable career.

All things considered, there are merits to both arguments, however, I cast no doubt on benefits of filling the gap between school and university with working carry more weight rather than drawbacks.