Task 2: large businesses have big budget for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

what problem does this cause?

what could be done to encourage people to buy local products.

There is a growing tendency towards consuming products and services of large enterprises due to the fact that strong financial resources provide them an inequitable advantage over small companies in terms of marketing and competition. In my opinion, this could result in a number of issues and steps need to be taken to stimulate consumers’ spending on local products.

The main issue caused by the aforementioned trend of consumption is that it endangers the development of local economy. In the context that consumers’ behaviors are nowadays easily influenced by adverts and sales promotions, it is obvious that small-scale business entities are losing their marketshare to big companies which consequently lead to their closure. As many local residents closely depend on local businesses for their livelihood, the diminution of local businesses means the degeneration of the quality of lives in local areas. Moreover, some traditional local products that are symbols of traditional values of regions might disappear in losing their marketshare battle against big companies.

However, there are various measures that could be taken to tackle the problems. One measure is that the government should provide production subsidies for local businesses in order to reduce the price of local products and offset the losses. The decrease in price of local goods would make them more attractive to customers and thus boost their demand. Also, some vulnerable and traditional local products should be offered discounts or free advertising by sponsors and authorities. Finally, the government could hold educational campaigns to raise civic residents’s awareness about the importance of local products to the economy and culture of the regions.

In conclusion, the preference of people to large business products leads to some problems which could be resolved by some presented above measures.