Task 2: Marketing and promotion is a key to a successful business. To what extent do you agree?

Marketing and promotion is nowadays becoming one of the most common concepts in business and commerce areas. There is a school of thought that it is the determinant factor for every companies to thrive. While I acknowledge the importance of marketing and promoting, I believe that for the success of a business, other factors should be considered.

There are a number of reasons why marketing and promotion has an essential role to play in business. One reason is that through marketing and promoting process, companies’ products and services, especially those that are new to the public, are introduced to customers. Normally consumers are not willing to spend money on goods that are unfamiliar to them as well as goods of which they do not have sufficient information. Therefore a good advertising campaign providing people with details about new products is crucial. Another reason is that many big firms are now using advertising, discounts and gifts as a method to compete and maintain market share due to the fact that competition in some market sectors are becoming increasingly intense.

However, advertising and promoting is not the only element that contribute to a company’s achievements. In order to flourish, a business needs to take other aspects into account. Besides marketing, quality of products provided to customers are vital since consumer's behaviors are more critical now in terms of the experience a product bring to them. In the same way, after-sale services and attitude when offering services, which directly link to customers first impression and loyalty, should not be neglected.

In conclusion, while marketing and promotion is a priority, companies should also pay attention to other factors to make an overall success.