Task 2 Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology In what ways has has technology affected the types of relationships people make Has this become a positive or negativedevelopment Give reasons for your answer a

Technology usher in an entirely new era for all humans where direct or indirect interaction is not considered a big problem. With the aid of technology, making relationships with people is much easier while most of these rapports are virtual. From a personal point of view, this is a negative movement since rapid and unreal relationships mean unstable and unsafe affairs.

First and foremost, finding new friends is not a difficult task thanks to technology and the internet. In the past, a friendship or a romantic affair often started from meetings on the streets, at school, or workplace. In our modern world, people only need a smart device such as a smartphone or a laptop with a good internet connection to build up a new rapport with different people from different regions. Nevertheless, according to a survey carried out in the USA about the impact of technology on humans’ relationships, 90% of these friendships or romantic affairs made online are virtual and unreliable. It is also reported in this survey that more and more people are building these virtual relationships and many of them were in trouble or under threat.

For the reason above, I affirm that this is a negative development. Virtual and vulnerable relationships via technology and online platforms pose various kinds of threats to people involved. Take Vietnam for example, since 2020, 1 out of 10 people has experienced internet fraud because of making friends with virtual strangers. Besides, building and relying on online relationships also instigate interactions among people in real life. Accordingly, the more people are dependent on online rapports, the fewer dialogues in person will be made. Gradually, society as a whole can easily become distant and impersonal.

In conclusion, technology facilitates our friend-making progress but these relationships also latent lots of danger. Therefore, it seems to me that virtual interactions among humans bring more drawbacks than benefits, in other words, a negative development.