Test and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages? Give reasons and examples.

One of the important social organization are school, which play a vital role in nurturing and grooming of students. It’s a place where all the students are treated equally regardless of their caste, creed and color. Testing and examinations are one of the important feature of the school . Here I would agree with this statement.

Schools follow a smartly designed curriculum for each level of studies and is tested through an examination at the end of the year. The main purpose of the examination is to come to know if the students have learned and understood, what they have been taught throughout the year. Test and examination are important from the point of view that it encourages students to achieve high credits which is possible only with a student’s hard work.

Moreover, exams are the deadlines that will keep on guiding and motivating students to plan out their schedules in order to study hard to achieve favorable credits. Furthermore, exams and tests are the only possible way to treat students in a justified manner. So, the students who studies hard will achieve credits and those who do not will not pass. Eventually this is guiding students to work hard in their life.

On the contrary, tests and exams seems to be torturing when they are extremely perceived as a competition and race with other students from their parents. It is taken as a peer pressure. When parents pressurize students to achieve higher marks, it demoralizes child psychologically. In addition, not all the students have equal resources and intellectual abilities to be a part of such a competition, while all students are treated equally in school. Some students may require extra efforts and attention from their teachers and parents.

In a nutshell, I believe there should be exams and test to examine the knowledge of the students that they had been taught throughout the year. But this sense of testing should never be overpowered onto students in the form of competition.