In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some ways. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

It is increasingly common that new modifications to the products are the highlights of many advertisements. In my opinion, this trend can be explained for two main reasons and it exerts a positive influence on both the products and consumers.

To begin with, human behavior and the company's profit can be attributed to businesses adding some new elements to items. People, especially those in their 20s, put much attention to their material life since society nowadays usually makes their judgment

about others relying on their appearance and their assets. As a result, young customers, who are normally the main target of this type of promotion, would like to spend more on any new products being advertised to prove that they are trendy and fashionable. This phenomenon can be exemplified by long lines of people waiting to buy the iPhone 11 on the first day of its release. Moreover, the companies can prolong their marketing campaigns by changing the highlighting features in their advertisements. Take Coca-Cola as an example; there are few changes that can be made to the recipe of this soft drink. However, the corporation in recent years always introduces a limited edition of cans and bottles in accordance with special occasions like Tet or Mid-Autumn festival. This practice not only satisfies buyers’ thirst for novelty but also leaves a profound imprint on their minds. Therefore, in their next purchases, customers are more inclined to buy this beverage, thus increase its profit

In general, I believe this is a positive development. This is because companies are likely to put more effort into developing their products and brand images in order to survive and gain a bigger share of the competitive market. As a result, consumers will have access to a wider range of high-quality options that can equip them in their lives

In conclusion, customers’ demand and the turnover of the product have motivated businesses to advertise about the changes in their product. The resulting effects are the improvement of the creation and increased satisfaction of buyers. Thus I am in favor of the continuation of this trend.