There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant exa

Music is food for the soul. It plays a very important part in the relaxation of the human mind. People’s choice concerning music varies according to their personality, mood and upbringing. Nowadays music is used for medication and exercise apart from entertainment. The gym which I visit always have hip hop or rock music playing, motivating the people and energizing our body for an effective workout. You can also notice malls and shopping complex always playing popular songs creating a happy environment for the shoppers.

Though International and Traditional music are equally important, these days it is the International Pop music which is precedent to country music.

Music is popular among everyone, young and old alike. The youth of today prefer International Pop music, Rock concerts and the cinematic music. On the other hand, the older generation prefers opera, traditional and devotional music.

Traditional Music plays a great role in enriching the culture and heritage of a country. Every country has its own unique music like opera and Jazz in western countries & Carnatic and Hindustani music in India. Our ancestors believed in expressing their emotions through music and this unique melody is an integral part of our culture which is irreplaceable.

Music, these days, has become a commercial affair. People are much more interested in making money and hence only such music which is popular globally and with the youth is being sponsored.

Today’s generation should be made to realize the importance and beauty of traditional music. More schools should indulge in Folk singing competitions and provide traditional musical instruments to students like the sitar, flute, saxophone, etc. Parents should take responsibility to ensure that children are aware of the traditional music by taking them to classical music concerts.