There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

In this contemporary era, a plethora of music genres have developed across the globe due to several languages and cultures. It is true that music has become an integral part of our lives and this essay will bring forth the reasons for the same as it acts as a stress buster. However, as far as my opinion is concerned, the traditional music of a nation should be held in higher regard as opposed to the international music.

The major reason behind the dependency on music is the lowered stress level achieved while listening to songs. Music has a therapeutic impact on the mind which makes us calm and relaxed. Moreover, it soothes our inner pain and helps us to enjoy and feel excited. Whenever, we listen to the songs which resemble our mood, our emotions get elevated thus, making us happy and content. According to a study conducted by the Royal Academy of Music, people are less likely to suffer from depression and anxiety related issues, if they frequently listen to music. Therefore, it can be inferred that music not only helps to cope up with stress and sadness but also makes our body healthy.

Music acts as a symbol of one’s culture and tradition. Moreover, it connects the past with present over numerous generations, so traditional music is definitely more important than international music. Therefore, we must preserve this national treasure to safeguard our history and culture. Interestingly, several ancient languages have been passed on through folk songs and poems which are on the edge of extinction today. Hence, the neglect of traditional music can be linked to eradication of an entire culture. For instance, very few people are aware of Dogri language today because of minimal representation in mainstream media. Dogri folk songs were very popular in the earlier days but have been foreshadowed by more popular genres which led to an end of a very rich Pahadi culture. Therefore, we must protect our traditional music to safeguard our culture.

To conclude, it can be said that music is essential to humans for as it help us to be composed and calm. Moreover, it makes our problems diminish for a while which lowers our anxiety. However, when it comes to the choice of genre, we must choose traditional music to conserve our community and to have a representation of our culture.