There are many types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important and should it be preserved or is it international music that is heard everywhere nowadays more useful to a society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Music is an important aspect of peoples lives all over the world. It can be argued that the traditional music is of paramount importance when compared with international music. This essay will outline the importance of both music and also give my opinion on them.

Without a doubt, music is very important to our lives in various ways. Firstly, people listen to music to get enjoyment and pleasure in our daily lives. Music helps people to relax whether at home or to relieve boredom on long journeys. Also, people listen to music in the clubs at night. Not all of these alone, it is evident that music is also part of educational curriculum where students learn how to play musical instruments. Furthermore, music is a way to express ones culture, it is known to be used in religious ceremonies such as weddings, funerals and likewise yearly festivals.

In considering which music is more important, there is no doubt international music is important but this should by no means over shadow traditional music. It can be argued that, traditional music should be given paramount priority as this helps the society to know the history and also retain knowledge about their culture. In addition, international music gives one insight into other peoples cultures and this will inturn strengthen relationships and we thereby enjoy the same kind of music.

To conclude, it has been argued that both traditional and international music are important but uttermost priority should be given to traditional music as to facilitate the growth of the culture of a country.