There are a number of different forms of communication and one such form is body language In what way is body language a form of communication What other ways do people communicate with each other
To most people, language speaks for itself and the meaning of language lies in the
words and sounds itself. However, in my opinion, a language goes beyond its
literal meaning and delivers different messages as situations change/ Effective
communication relies not only on wording, pronunciation and sentence
construction but also on physical gesture and facial expressions. It is undeniable
that body language is a useful form of communication in many circumstances/ The
movements of the body also have a bearing on the forming of a language. Besides,
there are other approaches to communicate to with each other.
Physical nonverbal communication, or body language, includes facial expressions,
eye contact, body posture, gestures such as a wave, pointed finger and the like,
overall body movements, tone of voice, touch, and others. There are two cases in
which people mostly use body language. Firstly, two people/ residents/ citizens
from different countries must express their thoughts by moving parts of their body
in case of not speaking any mutual language. Obviously, movements of body play
an integral part in transferring unspoken words and thoughts in mind to foreign
partners without saying any words since these motions are as simple and
understandable as possible. Secondly, people with physical disabilities such as
the deaf or mental disorders like autistic children have to use body language in
daily communication to convey messages and information that cannot be
performed verbally. In schools for the disabled, a universal set of sign language is
developed to help not only incapacitated learners communicate to each other but
also normal people understand them. That set is mainly exercised by hands and
really a helpful tool in giving opinions, exchanging information, and even
expressing feelings without any sounds.
Besides body language, verbal and written communications are used daily. It is
the fact that oral communication is the most common form of communication by
which only human beings, among other species living on Earth, can exchange
information with their counterparts. Each nation has its own language but they may
learn other foreign languages to commune when moving to other countries. Last
but not least, correspondences such as letters, emails, transmittals, and facsimiles
are making valuable contributions to communication at work as well as in dailylife. For instance, companies build their own written communication system to
ensure that information is fully conveyed to all employees. They can be expressed
in visual through visual aids such as signs, typography, drawing, graphic design,
illustration, color and other electronic resources. Technological developments
have made expressing visual communications much easier than before.
In conclusion, there are a number of circumstances in which people derive
benefits from using body language in terms of cultural exchange and language
ability. In additions, humans can opt for (using) other methods/means of
communication, verbally and non-verbally.