There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being.

What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

It is obvious that expanding car ownership is making a considerable contribution to not only several environmental problems but also people’s health. In this essay, I will outline two solutions which can be done to discourage people from unnecessary car use.

The first and the most effective measure that the governments can take is to make cars expensive. By imposing heavy tax on car purchasing, environment protection, and petrol consumption, people may start considering reducing car use, especially for unneeded trips. However, there is a drawback of this solution is that when the price of cars goes up, the rich are still be able to have car ownerships as they are not affected by financial burden while the poorer ones do. As a result, they cannot own a car for travelling to work.

Another action to reduce people’s car use is to organize awareness campaign to the owners about how many impacts that cars cause to the environment, and it should be viral in social media. In addition, governments should encourage their citizens to use public transportation such as buses, trams or subways. It is shown that in cities like Tokyo, Seoul, and Paris, where people would rather use alternative means of transport, the rates of traffic congestion are lower than Jakarta or Hanoi, where personal transportation is preferred.

In conclusion, increasing tax on car ownership can be an effective way to put off car use. Even so, I believe that encouraging people to use alternative transportation can be the better and more successful measure to achieve this goal.