There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Students who enrolled in universities has greatly increased since the last ten years. It is believed to be caused by many people believing that a lot of benefits derive from this. However, there are some who ate skeptical about its positive effects. This essay wil discuss both advantages and disadvantages of higher number of students in universities.

This trend has not started if not for the great effects that it brought to a lot of people and the community. Firstly, studying in university improves the quality of education since these institutions offer variety of courses and even provide well-organized lessons and extensive trainings. For instance, students can choose a specific field where they want to focus their studies with, such as medicine and business. In addition, given the knowledge and skills learned, graduates from universities are offered with more employment opportunities since the corporate world and medical societies today hire more applicants with higher qualifications. In other words, you have to earn a degree from a university to be able to be employed in a well-known company. Furthermore, as students from universities increase, the society's population of professionals also rise, making it a stronger country with higher literacy and competency.

Aside from the advantages, the growth in the population of university enrollees also poses some drawbacks. Top of the list would be financial risks. As studying in a university is a bit costly, some families might find it hard to support their children to school. For example, one semester of a business course in University of Chicago already costs $10,000. As a result, much pressure is given to the students to finish college and also to the government to extend help for its citizens. Lastly, studying in a university means longer years in school so instead of having a job to help their families earlier, to some they become a burden.

In conclusion, the growth in the number of college students is financially challenging to families in the community. However, the persona and professional growth that it can offer is definitely worth the chalenge. For these reasons, I think that the advantages outweigh these disadvantages.