There have been major advances in technology over recent decades and this has led to significant improvements in people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rapid growth of automated machines has lead to huge benefits and ease in people's lifestyles over the past few decades. The essay agrees with fact although such advances have brought in a few negative impacts too. While making our lives easier by freeing up time on our daily schedule it has reduced the need for labour due to the availability of machine-operated tasks.

The main benefit of modern technology is that people’s lives are much more convenient. This is because we are able to do many things without having to stay at the office or home, something which is extremely important given the busy lifestyles of today. For example, most people now have a mobile phone or laptop computer, and Wi-Fi is available in virtually every place. As a result, people are able to do their work, liaise with colleagues or friends, and check their emails anywhere they choose such as in coffee shops or while traveling on a train or bus. There is no doubt that this has improved people’s lives in many ways and this would not have been possible without improved technology.

However, a particularly dire effect of developments in technology has been automation. Many everyday practices are now performed by machines instead of people and this has resulted in less need for labor. For example, in recent decades nearly all major banks have replaced telephone operators with telephone switchboards that have recorded messages and all banks now have automated teller machines (ATMs). This reduces the need for people to visit the bank itself and has resulted in a corresponding decrease in the need for bank staff. As banks and other similar businesses strive for profit, this is likely to increase unemployment further in the future.

In conclusion, advancements in technology has made our lives much easier by speeding up tasks and saving time and also reduced the need for manual labour despite some negative impacts such as loss of jobs due to automation. Overall, technology has brought in a lot of benefits compared to its drawbacks.