These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city.

Discuss some of the effects of the rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city) and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.

Since early in the present century, the significant increase of exodus from rural to urban has received considerable attention. Country towns appear to be dying due to the fact that people migrate to the big cities in search of excitement and job. In this essay, I intend to analyze the effects of this phenomenon and what can be done to address the problem and reverse the trend.

Rural depopulation brings adverse impacts on both the urban and countryside. First of all, when a city is overloaded with too many inhabitants, overcrowding and a high population density erode the quality of life. Most noticeable is the fact that congested traffic, noise and population occurs much more frequently in the cities compared to the rural. What is more is that the uncontrolled high growth of population in cities give rises to severe problems, such as crime, high unemployment, the creation of slums, all of which disturb the harmony of city life.

Equally important, the majority of young people moving to big cities for the sake of earning a living leads to the shortage of skilled labor for farming. Thus, the migration from rural to urban leaves the farmhouses abandoned, which eventually makes the towns no longer serves their original function as a core agriculture in the nation.

In order to stem the tide of rural depopulation, I believe we must first address its root causes, namely creating job opportunities. Rural development needs to be stepped up, with investments going into education, tourism, and recreation. Better schools and colleges will attract teachers and stop the young from leaving. And with improved infrastructure the countryside, which is already full of attractions, could draw more tourists, leading to job opportunities for locals.

By way of conclusion, the problem is unlikely to be resolved in the short term. It is by no means insurmountable, nonetheless, I firmly believe that the appropriate method of developing rural areas is the most optimum ways to balance population distribution.