These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reason for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that men are increasingly likely to take on the role of househusband, while more women than ever are breadwinners in their families. There could be several reasons for this trend, and I consider it as a very positive movement.

In recent years, parents have had to adapt to various changes in our society. Equal rights movements have made great progress, and it has become normal for women gain qualifications and pursue their careers. It also has become common for men to stay at home and look after their children. For example, according to a nearby published survey in The Guardian, the number of female students graduating from universities in Asian countries and becoming main providers for families has doubled than it in 2000.

In my view, the shift in gender roles mentioned above should be seen as a progress. In this contemporary day, we should be happy to live in a society in which women and men have equal opportunities, in which women are not put under pressure to sacrifice their careers. Equally, it seems only fair that men should be free to leave their jobs in order to take childcare responsibilities. For instance, scientist recently carried out a statistical report that suggested more than 70 percent couples felt happy if they could make their own decisions about what parental role each partner takes to suit their personal particular circumstances.

In conclusion, the shifting roles of women and men in the family are a result of wider changes in society and I believe that these developments are desirable.