Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? Is this a positive or a negative change?

TV is a priority need of every household in the modern world. However, it’s an undeniable fact that the youth today, are investing enormous amount of duration in front of the television. Researchers believe that this behavioural pattern has adverse effects on children. This essay will show how globalisation and the ineffective parents of the children are the reasons behind this cause.

First and foremost, globalisation can be blamed for the long-term watching patterns of children. For instance, due to modernisation, more number of buildings have been constructed, having very little space for extra-curricular activities for the youth. On top of that, the government does very little to provide facilities such as an open ground, or a park for some physical exercises. Thus, the only option of entertainment is the idiot box. Having no physical activity causes obesity at an early age. Also, laziness is one of the main attributes which becomes a part of their nature.

In addition to that, lack of parental monitoring is another reason for this cause. Today, where both, the father and the mother go to work, children have fewer restrictions. As a result, they take advantage of this scenario and watch as much TV as they want. Moreover, this harms their body. According to research, by the age of ten, 90% of children start wearing glasses.

Having analyzed the above statements, it can be said that due to globalization by main scale industries, as well as the absence of parental guidance, children spend a lot of time with TV. This in turn has negative impacts, harming their body in numerous ways, as well as their nature.