Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these views?

These days, with the strong development of social media, advertising is considered an extremely effective way to promote products as it helps to boost sales and create awareness among the public. Some people assume that the power of advertising is the primary incentive for the large number of purchases for popular consumer products, while necessity if considered unimportant. In my viewpoint, this opinion might be true to some extent; however, it is the consumer requirements that mainly contribute to the increase in consumption.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that advertising plays a huge part in marketing. Companies and manufacturers are willing to invest a great deal of money in placing eye-catching billboards on streets, filming a touching short video based on the product's meaning to broadcast on social media of inviting celebrities to encourage their fans to make purchases. These methods are quite successful for some cases including luxurious products such as cars or jewellry; cosmetics and fashion.

On the other hand, when it comes to fundamental goods for living, for instance food, soap and washing powder, the impact of advertising can be neglitible. Buyers choose a product according to their requirements. The high sale of same specific product are probably a result of the climbing needs of consumers. It is necessity that decides the quantity of goods the buy, not commercials. The key role of advertisements is not to persuade people to buy essential products, but to help them choose the most suitable one among thousands of brands.

In conclusion, it is true that the growth of popular goods can partly shed light on the power of advertising. Nevertheless, the real need for products is actually the main reason explaining this trend.