Today a lot of different cultures and ethnic groups live together in one country.

Why is this so and do you think this is a positive or negative development?

21st Century has become an era of multiculturalism where multiple ethnic groups have been accepted in a single geography. This is due to globalization and the advancement of transportation and technology and it should be seen as a positive development because it makes people more adaptable and opens mined.

The world has become a global village as people from different cultures and ethnic groups live together. Before the modern period, the culture of society was restricted to a particular geographic location. However, with the invention of convenient and fast means of transportation like the airplane, people have migrated from one country to another in search of income, education, and a source of living. Moreover, with the advancement of technology like the internet, anyone can be proactive to gather more information and opportunities even before moving to their dream place. This way, several countries including the USA, Canada, Australia, India, UAE, etc. experience life amongst the mixed ethic group.

Living in a multicultural society provides the individual with adaptability and an open mindset. A person living in a multicultural society is easily adaptable to new situations. In these societies, every individual develops a sense of understanding to people who may have a completely different set of beliefs and sometimes controversial beliefs. For example, when a person is used to an ever-changing society, they are more adaptable to other fields like work and education. Furthermore, the concept of racism substantially reduces when living in a multicultural society. Once a person starts living amongst different cultures, the person would automatically understand why people behave in a certain way.

In conclusion, drastic improvement of the transport networks and the technological industries plays the crucial role in supporting and settling up multicultural country and this trend is regarded as positive due to establishing higher adaptability and more unified views of people in the world.