Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, diversity of nutrients has been one of the principal factors that reflect the wealth and developing pace of a nation. In fact, this has led to the terms of food importing. Notwithstanding its obvious advantages, personally speaking, I believe that the dark side of this contemporary trend is worth considering.

It is undeniable that buying food from foreign countries is demonstrated to be beneficial in some aspects of lives. There is an ubiquitous belief claiming that this trend has brought additional nutrient values to a person's meals. Apart from junk food, products, for instance, cheese, have been proven to improve social health in general. Specifically, this can reduce birth defects, which is due to the deprivation of Calcium as well as extending life expectancy.

On the contrary, drawbacks associated with this trend have occured on a massive scale. Apparently, imported food is often incompatible for low-income citizens because high expenditure is compulsorily required to afford it. To illustrate, a bar of cheese is nearly 100,000 VND, which is equal to returns of a full day of work of a construction worker. Likewise, national corporations have suffered its devastating consequences since they are outperformed by foreign companies with marvelous economic potential. Furthermore, as less tax is charged to make way for importing patterns, it puts pressure on national authorities to maintain their revenues. Eventually, domestic companies are compelled to pay in large sums, alongside being surpassed, redundancies have proliferated tremendously.

To put it simply, although the bright side of ordering foodstuffs overseas undoubtedly exists, I am wholeheartedly determined that this is a negative trend. My suggestion is that governments should take a comprehensive view to gradually balance these two contradictory aspects.