Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays importing food becomes increasingly common among countries in the world. In my opinion, this is overall a positive trend.

To begin with, this development creates competitive food markets. This is because domestic food may be diminished in value by buyers who consider overseas food as better quality products. As a result, farmers and enterprises in each country may have a tough time competing with abroad food brands. On top of that, it can result in increased food waste, which can have detrimental effects on the environment. In order to make sure food is still edible after a long journey, food is often wrapped in packages. Consequently, opting for imported food means more plastic is released into the environment.

However, I would argue that the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative ones. Firstly, it helps people get access to a wide range of food from all over the world. Specifically, residents can enjoy more food that cannot be grown in their countries. For example, kiwi fruits could not adapt to the hot and humid environment in Vietnam but Vietnamese people are able to consume them because they are imported. Secondly, it boosts the economies of developing countries. Agricultural countries can make profits by exporting rice and other farming products to developed countries such as the US, China. Then, the money can be invested in purchasing machines and technological devices, which promotes the development of the industry and service sectors.

Although fierce competition can result from this development, my firm conviction is that this is a positive development.