In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the past, it was a custom for a father to be the only bread earner for the family. Fathers would go out to work and earn money to fulfil the families’ daily needs and mothers would stay home to take care of the children. However, nowadays, it is not rare to find both parents going out to work. Whilst the additional income might bring benefits to everyone especially the children, there are a number of drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. This essay will confer whether or not it is necessary for both parents to go out to earn money for a living.

In some families, both parents are required to work not because of their own will, but because circumstances demand them to. As living cost and everything is getting more expensive in today’s competitive world, some families might not earn enough to cover their living cost if only one parent goes out to work. That being the case, there is nothing anyone can do to help. However, the benefit of the extra income for the children still remains unchanged. With more income, parents will be able to afford more new toys, the latest gadget, and even vacation abroad.

On the other hand, children might feel abandoned due to their parents’ never being there for them. It is also proven that children’s, whose parents are never at home, are more prone to behavioural problems. For instance, my friend, Elaine, whose parents is always working overnight and is never there for her when she needs them, has to battle with her insecurity of being unwanted every day, she, in turn, tries to seek the attention of her teachers by behaving badly in the class. From my example, you can see how parents’ absence can affect children in the long run.

As far as I am concerned, there is no need for both parents to be working unless it is really necessary. While additional income is benefiting for the children, the presence of a mother will be best for the children’s well-being in the long run.