Topic: The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise?

Do you agree that is it the greatest problem faced by humanity?

written by Cuong Nguyen

The world population is now well over 7 billion, catapulted by an exponential growth over the past century, especially in the developing nations. From my standpoint, significant advancements in medication, along with improved food security, have brought about the current trend. Acknowledging this fact, however, I personally don’t believe it is a huge problem faced by mankind, for some underlying reasons about to be discussed in this essay.

The first cause for a drastic increase in world population is certainly enhanced health service in almost every corner of the planet. One of the most notable achievements was the discovery of antibiotics, the first being penicillin, which have saved millions of lives, especially in wartime. Some other milestones of universal health care were the creation of vaccines, and the implementation of vaccination campaigns, safeguarding newborns of life-threatening infections. On the whole, biology, chemistry, and health-related fields made serious breakthroughs in the last two centuries, altogether contributing to safer lives and longevity of the people.

The second cause of this lightning-speed population rise has to be vigorous attempts to maintain food security. Technological progress in agriculture and supporting industries such as fertilizer, pesticide production, automation equipment, etc has led to boosted productivity, variety and quality of crops and other food products. The relentless efforts of governments, especially in the developed countries, to reduce food prices (by subsidizing agriculture) generated spillovers to the rest of the world. Proliferation of specialization and free trade greatly enhanced the availability of food and drove down prices.

While the fact of rapid population growth is universally accepted, it’s believed that this phenomenon does not pose much of a problem. First, population of the world is always clustered in cities or coastal areas, so there is little chance of the Earth being overly inhabited. Second, rich and powerful nations are deliberately facilitating and developing alternative energy sources, which are already utilized in many European countries. The rise of electric, rechargeable cars has proven this trend. In the upcoming centuries, there is a good chance that Mars will be colonized (with the pioneering efforts being made by NASA and SpaceX). Thus, overpopulation is much less a worry than other contemporary concerns of humanity, such as poverty alleviation, terrorism, or climate change.

In a nutshell, the dramatic rise of human population stems from better medication, as well as improved food security in every section of the world. Nonetheless, this might not be a big deal compared to other urgent and more threatening issues.