Topic: most large countries nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do you agree or disagree that multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

Most of the multinational companies have plants in remote areas and it is a widely accepted truth that, they make some harm to the local people and environment. I strongly believe, these companies have a social responsibility towards the affected community because of their deeds.

To begin with, multinational companies always prefer to start their pants in remote areas where people are not educated enough. The lack of education of people here, make them unaware of the pollution and health problems these factories bring. People affect so badly with the toxic gases these plants expel. Thus, the management of these companies should arrange free, routine health check ups for the population here. Another point is, while, building large factories , farmers sacrificing their farm land for the sake of factory but they are getting a small amount in return. To avoid poverty in their families company management must give a job for one member in every family. When Cochin refinary, a refinary in India, constructed many people sacrificed their land for this project, but government of India gave job one member in every family, apart from the compensation money for land. Multinational companies have to follow this as an example and should give job for affected families.

Moreover, pollution must be reduced with advanced technologies. Many advanced technologies are available in the market for pollution control but companies very seldom buy this because of their cost reduction policy. This attitude towards the the local community and the environment must change. Companies should take initiative to buy these sophisticated machines in order to curb the pollution. For instance, pollution via the water can be reduced the effective water treatment plants, some companies already made it , others also should take initiative to do the same.

To conclude, multinational companies cannot hide away from the problems they brings to local communities. Hence, they must take some fruitful actions towards these problems