Tourism is an ever growing industry What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society

Tourism is about exploring new destinations, trying local cuisine, traveling via different modes of transportation, visiting local museums, historical monuments, shopping markets, try a hand at adventure sports, hiking at natural spots like- beaches, farmlands, hilly areas or forests and so on. There is a total of 195 countries in the world, so thousands of regions are explored and many yet are untouched. A human thirst to explore doesn’t die down, so the demand to travel is ever increasing and thus it’s an ever-growing industry.

Traveling and exploring helps one to take that much-needed break from daily life routine. One gets to close to new cultures, languages, biodiversity, food, clothing and so on, first-hand. Does travel increase our knowledge? Yes, it does and broadens one's mindset and makes one tolerant towards cross-cultures. For the duration of your travel, you get a chance to live a new culture.

Tourism is a major contributor to the economic development of the country. As a tourist, the person utilizes services like- visa, tickets, clothes, flights, insurance, food, cab/bus/train/ship, hotel, sightseeing, shopping, medical, adventure sports and other similar things. This involves the exchange of currency at all points to make use of every facility. Thereby, it boosts the country’s wealth, stimulates good infrastructure for the region and opens numerous job opportunities catering to the various tourism needs.

A tourist spot incites locals to keep it clean and welcome tourists with warmth, this leads to a healthy society where interactions of diverse cultures, backgrounds, and human nature, takes place. Thereby, concluding tourism has a major impact on an individual as his horizons are expanding and on society, as it directs to socio-economic progress.