University students should pay all the costs of their studies because university education benefits only individuals but not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that universities bring benefits to individuals who engage in learning for their future, however, not the society. For that reason, people say that students should take care of the university expense by themselves. In my opinion, while some students can pay all cost in exchange for the knowledge they gain from universities, I believe that other part of students should be sponsored because their contribution to the society comes later after they graduate.

Indeed, the cost of high level studying must be covered by individuals who seek knowledge for their own future. Usually, these people go to universities with an ambition to achieve essential knowledge for their own sake. When they have a wide range of knowledge and strong skillsets, they can secure their future with high-income occupations. Thus, it can be easily seen that the benefits students receive later in their lives are far greater than the amount of money they spent for universities. In other words, paying the cost of their studying is simply a fair trade for all the privileges that they will have later in their lives.

However, there is another part of students whose purpose of going to the university is to contribute to the society after their graduation. Of course, the people in this part should be sponsored or at least not be fully charged for their courses. Since these individuals mostly come from low-income families that cannot afford their studies, they value the sponsoring fund from the society and create a mindset to excel other students in future career to return the favor. As a matter of fact, many entrepreneurs who earlier received support from society for their studying are now giving away charity for the homeless or scholarships for students.

In conclusion, I believe some students should pay all the cost of universities for their own purposes while others need the support for the benefits they bring back to the society in the future.