Violence in the media promote violence in society.

To what extent do you agree?

Critics throughout both the developing and developed countries have debated whether mass media applying violence will cause violent activities in modern society. I partly agree with such idea with two-sided arguments, one supporting and another opposing.

To begin with, overwhelming promotion of violence in mass media, such as television and the Internet, can persistently impact people's mind. With the easily accessible contents promulgated by mass media, youngsters might be indoctrinated with the brutal thoughts since they grow up, believing that such actions are amusing. Subsequently, teenager might commit such crimes in search of stimulation and excitement by imitating the crime details from movies in real life. For instance, in the early 80th century in Hong Kong when movies describing lives of brutal gangs were prevailed among the majority of citizens, the violent crime rates witnessed a drastic increase.

Despite the above arguments, I believe that the violence contexts reported by the media agencies could raise awareness and caution among the public. Take the news report of the domestic violence or serial killing as example. By watching those details from news reports, people become more vigilant and get knowledge of how the measures should be taken when confronting similar situation, resulting in decreased number of cases of such crimes. It is the media that help promote the awareness and thus reduce the probability of occasions of crimes.

Given the above factors, I would conclude that media has enormous impact on our daily life. While broadcast of violent details by media can be detrimental to people’s mental development, people’s awareness on crimes can be raised. Personally, the pros of reporting brutal crimes far outweigh the cons, which are avertable if censorship or parental guidance can be given to youngsters while watching the crime contents.